top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Ryan


The staff and students of Scoil Mhuire Ennistymon gathered together on May 24th to recognise a host of individual accomplishments at the annual Scoil Mhuire Awards Ceremony. This day is a focal point of the school calendar, a day that is set aside to honour determined, talented and hard-working students in all aspects of school life. The occasion began with the Sports Awards for 2016. Special guest, Clare star dual player, Podge Collins delivered an excellent and thought provoking message to his captivated audience in which he emphasised the importance of friendship in life and urged everyone present to always be mindful of the feelings of others in their everyday lives. The emphasis Scoil Mhuire places on sport was evident in the multitude of sports represented in awards. Awards were given for football, camogie, basketball, swimming, footsal, walking, golf, showjumping and cross country running. The overall Senior Football award went to Aisling Rouine and Ash Parra-Haran while Hannah Shannon and Elaine Shannon were recipients of the Junior and Senior Athletics award. The Junior Basketball award went to Cathy Cullinan while eight girls were awarded the Senior Camogie award. The overall Junior Sports Person of the year 2016 went to Niamh O’Dwyer and the Overall Sports Person of the year 2016 was awarded to Katie Considine and Clare Hehir.

Scoil Mhuire has a long tradition of celebrating and showcasing the talent and ability of students and the Awards Ceremony which followed recognised outstanding achievement in many areas, academic excellence, commitment to school life, leadership, endeavour, social awareness, music and art. After opening remarks from the principal and an inspirational message from the Head Girl, Emma Greene, awards for social awareness, endeavour, Art, Music and special recognition awards were given to all year groups. A special award was given to Lily Donovan, a Leaving Cert student, who is the first member of the Travelling Community to progress to Leaving Cert in Scoil Mhuire.

The Catherine McCauley Award which recognises a student who has contributed meaningfully to school life, improving the lives of fellow classmates by showing a genuine concern for others and assisting in positive ways went to Aoife Cuddihy. Leaving Cert Awards were subject based with Rachel Hehir winning the English, Biology, Irish, French, Maths and Business award and Emma Greene receiving the Agricultural Science award. Andrea O’Keeffe was the recipient of the Chemistry award and Aideen Bonito was deemed to excel in Art. Sarah White took the Design and Communication Graphics award and Amy Keating was chosen winner of the Geography award. Ailise Corry won the History award while Clare Hehir received the Home Economics award and Chloe O’Looney took the LCVP award. Rachel Curtin received the Music Award and the Marguerite O’Dwyer perpetual trophy for contribution to music was presented by Marguerite’s mother Claire Forde to Alison Clair.

Other awards given included Outstanding Junior Cert results which went to Ruth O’Halloran and Eleanor O’Loughlin. The Drury Award for English Literature went to June Harhen and Alannah McMahon. The prestigious and coveted Student of the Year award was this year awarded to Rachel Hehir.

The Awards instil a sense of pride of progress and achievement in students and staff. Each one of the award winners have learned the secret of joy in work and in striving to do their best. Congratulations to all and special thanks to Ms Eustace, event organiser.



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scoil Mhuire Ennistymon is the top school in Clare for the second year running according to the The Sunday Times ‘definitive guide to Ireland’s top 400 schools’ published recently. The guide lists the

Please see the attached Newsletter with details about the upcoming academic year. Please pay particular attention to the change in return dates for all students (except TY). Parent Teacher meeting and

bottom of page